Using EyeTracker as Switch without Calibration

Place to discuss eye tracking and related topics

Using EyeTracker as Switch without Calibration

Postby tjakobs » 17 Nov 2014, 20:52

Hi All,

A few months ago, we put together an application that used this eye tracker as a blink switch. Back then, the SDK would call OnGazeUpdate as soon as we added the listener to it. This was really nice because it meant that we did not have to make our users calibrate the eye tracker just to use it as a switch. The population we are working with do not have the ability to direct their eyes to where they want a cursor to move but instead use a scanning keyboard. Recently, the SDK has been updated to not call OnGazeUpdate until a calibration has occurred. Is there a way to get around this? Can the SDK be changed back to allow OnGazeUpdate to work as before?

Thank you
tjakobs
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 10 Feb 2014, 22:28

Re: Using EyeTracker as Switch without Calibration

Postby joaquingonzalezaravena » 05 Feb 2015, 16:31

I found useful to have some interaction without any calibration. Would be great to rollback that feature
joaquingonzalezaravena
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 21 Nov 2014, 01:14

Re: Using EyeTracker as Switch without Calibration

Postby Martin » 05 Feb 2015, 18:47

Will look into this. It should be designed to callback regardless of calibrated or not, still useful to have pupil-positions and sizes.
Martin
 
Posts: 567
Joined: 29 Oct 2013, 15:20

Re: Using EyeTracker as Switch without Calibration

Postby Anders » 09 Feb 2015, 11:29

In order to be able to look into this, we first need to know what SDK you are referring to? Is it C#, Java, C++ or Objective-C?

Also, what release/version are you using? You can see this by going to 'releases' in the GitHub project in question.
Anders
 
Posts: 124
Joined: 29 Oct 2013, 16:23

Re: Using EyeTracker as Switch without Calibration

Postby tjakobs » 13 Aug 2015, 21:06

We're using C#. This occurs when using SDK version 0.9.56.
tjakobs
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 10 Feb 2014, 22:28

Re: Using EyeTracker as Switch without Calibration

Postby ryklin » 04 Sep 2015, 00:01

Here is an interesting and related problem.

My program automatically starts the eyetribe server and starts collecting data. It's very easy to use (i plan to post it for the public soon but it's still in beta). Anyway, here is a new concern. Lets assume that the user just unpacked the eyetribe and connected it, then starts my 3rd party program. What happens... it connects but the tracker seems to not work. Why not? Because the user never ran the initial calibration. There's no way for my program to check that.

It would be great if you can add a function call that asks isEyeTrackerCalibrated() or isEyeTrackerCalibrationLoaded() so that if it returns false, we can either notify the user that they need to calibrate, or start the EyeTribe UI automatically.
ryklin
 
Posts: 65
Joined: 08 Apr 2014, 19:02


Return to General Discussion



cron